On September 17, 2018, The State of New Jersey approved three new majors in Asian Studies (formerly known as East Asian Languages and Area Studies), Japanese, and Korean. The new major programs will be implemented during the academic year 2018-2019, and students can then choose to major or minor in Asian Studies, Chinese, Japanese, or Korean. Majors earn their B.A. in Asian Studies, B.A. in Chinese, B.A. in Japanese, or B.A. in Korean.